Podaj hasło
CD Accord Sp. z o.o. English
Firma Katalog Artyści Dystrybutorzy Kontakt Nowości
Katarzyna Brochocka
< >

Polish composer, an author of symphonic, chamber, and solo works, specializing in vocal, operatic and theater music. She is a winner of numerous international awards, including Capital Fringe Festival Audience Award for the Best Musical Theatre & Opera (Washington, 2013), Opera Vista Artistic Director’s Prize (Houston, 2010), Grand Prize in the chamber division of 2008 David Walter/ISB International Composition Competition; Special Commendation at the 2008 Nancy Van de Vate International Composition Prize for Opera, Vienna. Katarzyna Brochocka was also the finalist of Douglas Moore Fund for American Opera Competition (New York, 2010) and a runner-up of the Flourish Opera Competition (London, 2012) and the 2010 I.C.A. Composition Competition. She was a grant holder of the Polish Ministry of Culture and National Heritage Creativity Promotion Fund (2010).

Her works have been performed in Poland (Warsaw Chamber Opera, Kalisz Philharmonic, Sudeten Philharmonic, Warmian-Masurian Philharmonic, Wrocław Chamber Orchestra Leopoldinum, etc.), and abroad (OperaUpClose, London; Microscopic Opera, Pittsburgh; Opera Vista, Houston; Opera in the Ozarks, Arkansas), including numerous music festivals, such as: Audio Stage 2013 (Warsaw, Poland); 2013 Artscape Festival (Baltimore); 2013 Capital Fringe Festival (Washington); 2009 Society of Composers, Inc. Conference (Oklahoma); 2015, 2009 and 2007 International Society of Bassist Conventions (Colorado, Pennsylvania, Oklahoma); 2006 Musik Unsere Zeit (Muenster, Germany); among others. She has written incidental music to numerous theater plays performed at dramatic and puppet theaters across Poland. 

Katarzyna Brochocka studied composition with Jan Antoni Wichrowski at the Karol Lipiński Academy of Music in Wrocław (Poland), Edward Knight at Wanda L. Bass School of Music, Oklahoma City University (USA), and Doina Rotaru at University of Music in Bucharest (Romania, “Socrates-Erasmus” scholarship).

 photo: Marcin Niewirowicz

  Back to top of the page